2022/23 Awards

On Sunday 21st January the club hosted their annual awards at Pratten’s Sports and Social club.  Presenting the awards was Club Chairman Andy Young.

Left: Ian Garforth received Handicap Cup from Chairman, Andy Young.

ArcheryGB has introduced a new handicap and classification system this year and 24 members received their new classification badges signifying their competence in the field of archery at a minimum as an “Archer 3rd class”.  Five members attained the highest classification that the club can award, “Bowman 1st class”, namely Andy Young, Clair Crook, Clive Jarrett, David Aldridge and Janet Ross.  For our members who are new to archery several progression badges were presented demonstrating their continued development.  Receiving their first badges were senior Barebow archer Izzy Randell and Junior Riley Edgell. 

Junior and Senior awards for greatest improvement over the year went to Parker Edgell and Jake Appleton respectively.

Age group trophies were awarded for the best average score per arrow over the course of the season.  U12 – Dylan Appleton, U14 – Elliot Crisp, U16 Cody Adams and U18 Harriet Crook.

The Senior Chairman’s Cup for best average top three Frostbite scores for the recurve discipline went to Clive Jarrett with an average score of 332 out of a possible 360.  Junior Chairman’s cup was awarded to Elliot Crisp for highest progression for junior recurve archer and the Junior Barebow award, similarly for highest junior barebow progression went to Amelie Ball.

The 2023 ladies Clout champion went to Andrea Whittle and Men’s Clout Champion was retained by Andy Young.  For the first time a junior trophy was awarded in this category, with the award going to Elliot Crisp.

Right: Andrea Whittle receives Clout Trophy

Throughout the year the club holds handicap competitions.  6 events took place in 2023 and the Handicap Cup was presented for most accumulated points over the season.  1st place was compound archer, Ian Garforth with 10 points and runner up, recurve archer Andrea Whittle 9 points.

Our inaugural ladder competition had a dramatic last day with Clive Jarret reaching the top of the ladder following a one arrow shoot off (nearest the middle) against opponent David Aldridge.  The top compound archer on the ladder was Clair Crook and top barebow archer was Katie Beale.  All received a gold medal.

The award for most scores submitted again went to Andrea Whittle (Ladies) and Clive Jarret (Mens) in the senior section.  In the junior section a new winner in Elliot Crisp. 

The Coaches trophy was presented to Clair Crook for her continued support to the coaching of all club members, instigation of a Boost Archery course and attaining her Level 2 coaching award (and commencing level 3). 

Left: Clair Crook receives the Coaches Award

To finish, the Graham Billam Member’s Choice Cup, voted for by members, went to Simon Whittle.